Katamenia and taxes

Happy Monday, lying abed trying to formulate what to write. This blog writing stuff is causing me to think a lot, not just what to write but why am I doing it? Being a being riddled with self-doubt I find myself often thinking I’m some sort of narcissist, I like people saying and writing good things about my writing, but every time I read or hear such Captain Putdown loudly guffaws. Then again, as I’ve already written, I enjoy the process and feel better doing it, the old cathartic bollocks. Although using the term cathartic bollocks is etymologically incorrect as it originates from the Greek katamenia, which means evacuation of menstrual fluid. What I am left with is simply me writing a little narrative about me and the crabby one and sharing this with those I love and care for.

Thinking of sharing have definitely made my mind up about not joining faceache as last Thursday the company announced it had paid no corporation tax for the second year in a row. For too long we’ve had it stuffed down our throats that tax is bad; tax is not bad. I believe that tax provides for the common good, the common wealth. With tax money everyone can have health services, education, decent infrastructure, social welfare and so on. I know David Hart, and maybe other Davids don’t like taxes, but is it just because you don’t like it getting into the hands of politicians who you don’t trust or respect? As Michael Sandel writes: “Democracy does not require perfect equality but it does require that citizens share in a common life…..for this is how we come to care for the common good” (ref. What Money Can’t Buy).

In the meantime let’s boycott all these companies who are corrupting our common good. Time these companies properly audited themselves with regard to ‘don’t do evil’.

So Jo, a C or even a C+ for my poem?

Should be getting 3 more hats today, so I’ll have 14, which is probably enough to be going on with. Still only 2 wigs though. Anyway photo of me with hair and another wearing 1 new hat:

p5   p6

Just read a really moving piece in g2 (that’s the small bit of the Guardian for non-readers) about a woman called Jo Beecham. When diagnosed with cancer 3 years ago she immediately resolved to try and control the moment of her death. In July she bought poison, she was passionate about legalising assisted dying and this brought conflict for her palliative nurse Annie. Annie said it was easy for her and the palliative care professionals because they “have hidden behind the fact it’s illegal”. Jo caused her to shift her opinions about assisted dying but also Jo shifted her opinions and became more accepting of having palliative care. She died peacefully last week at home with friends. Tears are pouring from my eyes right now.

Keep on keeping on love Duncan.

8 thoughts on “Katamenia and taxes

  1. Ah, it’s Simon here again. There is a lot to comment on. I found out about something on the radio this morning which I didn’t know anything about. It is called 38 Degrees; I am probably the last person in Britain to have heard about it but I think it has an important part to play in the political landscape. It seems to me that our political masters neither have the skills to manage our nation nor the inclination to look ahead and make necessary adjustments. When a little good news is at hand politicians are quick to take credit. It is reasonable to assume, however, that by and large, left to its own devices, the economy will have a tendency to grow, largely due to the productivity and inventiveness of its workforce and new technology. What politicians are really saying is ‘oh, aren’t we cleaver, we haven’t messed up the economy for a whole year’. And another thing….
    A Brief Crack of Light is a wonderful and very thought provoking poem. Get it published.
    Regarding hats, I have always liked the bowler myself, it would be a brown on in my trade but you could carry off a black one I am sure, follow this link; http://www.hatsandcaps.co.uk/christys-hats-fur-felt-bowler-p130426/?cid=8PL6BT8YAU7F9IAS11MP8IY72PXGHNC3 for a proper hat!

    Ta ta for now.

    Simon

    Like

    1. tanks Simon, have you been defrocked? You were probably listening to start the week with the 38 degrees bloke, it and similar sites are increasingly influential. Also had that tosser Brand on.
      love Duncan.

      Like

  2. No such thing as marks duncan, your teacher self should know better than to ask! It’s beautiful writing, honest heartfelt and definitely evoked something in me

    Have just this year exposed (lit) my pomes to the outside world, after 42 years of writing – the site poetryrepublic.com is a great one as you get feedback from other writers – submitted 3, one was ignores, one got faint praise, and the other glowing comments. It all made me feel weird, and reinforced my urge not to publish, and yet and yet, something in me needs to submit the ego to this assesment – I’m sure you know what I mean, doing this blog. But – 2 other competitions i entered (competitions seem to be the only way, apart form the republic above) to get stuff acknowledged), got no response, and I thought their winners were rubbish… so hence back to my refusal (echoing yours at school perhaps) that marks are not appropriate.
    Rave on kate, along with John Donne (in my view one of the best ever poets) (nb – rave as in the strongest possible way, not the unwell way) – I champion everything you said.

    Optimism, that’s what interests me – which gene is that one?
    Coming back to darkness, I found this which I found reflected some good thoughts.: http://www.purifymind.com/HeartDarkness.htm (don’t be put off by the purifymind bot, it’s a critique).
    love and soft strength jxxx

    Like

  3. Duncan, I read the G2 article and it had the same effect.
    Only just caught up on your blog as last week we moved back into our house after six months of building work. Will get back to daily check in now. xxxx

    Like

  4. Hi Duncan, just saw Kate in town and actually managed to remember the name of your blog when I got home!! I read that article Duncan, having recently joined the group ‘Dignity in Dying’. Having seen my dad go through such a long battle with cancer and receive such amazing care and support from Macmillan as his life came to an end, I can kind of see reason in having a choice; Jo Beacham seemed to feel comforted in the knowledge the ‘Poison in the fridge’ was there, should she need it. I wonder if she hadn’t received the support she did from Annie, whether she would have gone ahead?

    Like

    1. Quite possibly Leah, either way we need a proper grown up debate about assisted dying as well as reconsidering our relationship with death. If you can be bothered read Mortality and Hoodies.
      Duncan

      Like

Leave a Reply

