Ha Ha Chelsea lost.

Good news yesterday with Chelsea being beaten and Moanrinho complaining about the ball boys. Something he would never dream of doing: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r5ZYutThz_g  wanker.

Feeling a little less lively today and taken some morphine for throat pain. Ruby has a nasty sore throat as well, poor Kate nursing two of us.

Thanks David for a fulsome comment, will ‘read and inwardly digest’ as some teacher told me once.

Well there’s lots of stuff coming out about private schools at the moment, maybe the tide is turning and people are learning. One aspect commented on frequently is how a private education reinforces their sense of entitlement, self-belief and overall confidence. The flip side is the effect on the rest of us plebians. In the New Statesman  Rhiannon Lucy Cosslett wrote about this and started with a story about a friend she was meeting or lunch in a posh eaterie in London. Her friend arrived first and even though it was cold waited outside because she hadn’t the confidence to go in on her own, saying “it’s way too swanky”.

Now I think it affects me too, for example when people praise my writing I do find it hard to accept and am wondering if I’d been to Eton I’d feel different?

Listening to a youtube clip about class in the USA by Richard Wolff yesterday (now the myth is that anyone can make it over there). He went to a number of the ‘top’ universities and was surprised early on at Harvard when he learnt that many of the students had come from two private schools called Andover and Exeter (Eton and Harrow?). Like over stateside, and increasingly here, we’re told work hard and you’ll do well, and such was Wolff’s approach. After two years at Harvard he noticed that many of these privately educated types began drinking on Thursday and carried on until Sunday (in the 70’s we began a bit earlier!). Initially he admired this relaxed approach, this shifted later on in life when he realised that because of their social upbringing, i.e. class, they would get the jobs they wanted, be paid well and continue the cycle of entitlement and privilege. Buller Buller.

Even the self-confident and intelligent Wolff felt that he ‘didn’t belong’ but he made sure they didn’t know.

As David nicely puts these privileged prats then go on to dominate so many areas of our life, including acting as our ‘democratic representatives’, deep irony. Here’s a bit of George Carlin for you David in relation to all the kleptos:

“That invisible hand of Adam Smith’s seems to offer an extended middle finger to an awful lot of people.”.

So it’s been a losing run for a few weeks with the horses but made a tidy profit yesterday so I’m still in the black, and the alliterative horses helped.

Anyone else been listening to the Reith Lectures by Dr Atal Gawande? They are very interesting and apply to so much of life, not just the medical profession. And as so often in life it’s simple things that can often be so effective, one of Gawande’s is having simple checklists for systems. I’m going to create one for cancer patients; we have to remember a number of different things such as having a blood test before we go for chemo. I’ve not done it once and a fellow crab also did it this week and it delays treatment as they have to do a blood test to check you’re OK to cope with the chemo, a simple checklist done with a nurse would help in alleviating this.

I’ve written (does anyone else have the problem of accidentally hitting the caps lock key and writing reams before you realise you’ve been writing in capitals and waste time deleting, retyping, or highlighting?) about Jenni Diski before but she wrote in The Guardian yesterday about her relationship with Doris Lessing. She has terminal cancer and wrote: “The worst thing about the little world of cancer is this dreadful business of having to be positive”. I know exactly what she means. She also hates the terms battle and journey:

“One thing I state as soon as we’re out of the door: ‘Under no circumstances is anyone to say that I lost a battle with cancer. Or that I bore it bravely. I am not fighting, losing, winning or bearing.’ I will not personify the cancer cells inside me in any form. I reject all metaphors of attack or enmity in the midst, and will have nothing whatever to do with any notion of desert, punishment, fairness or unfairness, or any kind of moral causality. But I sense that I can’t avoid the cancer clichés simply by rejecting them. Rejection is conditioned by and reinforces the existence of the thing I want to avoid. I choose how to respond and behave, but a choice between doing this or that, being this or that, really isn’t freedom of action, it’s just picking one’s way through an already drawn flow chart. They still sit there, to be taken or left, the flashing neon markers on the road that I would like to think isn’t there for me to be travelling down. I am appalled at the thought, suddenly, that someone at some point is going to tell me I am on a journey. I try but I can’t think of a single aspect of having cancer, start to finish, that isn’t an act in a pantomime in which my participation is guaranteed however I believe I choose to play each scene. I have been given this role. (There, see? Instant victim.) I have no choice but to perform and to be embarrassed to death. I wish you long life.” from http://www.lrb.co.uk/v36/n17/jenny-diski/a-diagnosis

No blog related image just a Steve Bell having a go at the grinning gargoyle:

Manifesto 38:

  • bring in the sin bin for football. Have a real bin on the side of the pitch.

Keep on keeping on, love Duncan.

4 thoughts on “Ha Ha Chelsea lost.

  1. Glad you read the Jenni Diski article, her stuff on being ‘ positive’ and being on a ‘journey’ is spot on. I’m still looking for the ticket office.
    Sin bins should be awarded to commentators that quote stats rather than commentate.There should be restrictions on Sheik and Oligarch teams that field 3 players that cost over £20000 000, the rest of their teams should comprise of academy players, surrealists and transvestites.
    Love and keep on…..
    Jurgen Clingfilm

    Like

Leave a Reply

