Covering tits

Well, after a good run felt pretty crap over the last day. Peg painful again last night, sore throat and increasingly dry mouth disturbing my sleep, then not wanting to eat anything for breakfast. Began to think that it might be better using peg, then i can try and prevent further development of taste disappointment disorder (TDD, it’s been recognised in the last 5 minutes in DSM-IV). Here’s a new word:  otolaryngolist, which is a an ear, nose , throat, head and neck doctor and they diagnose and treat taste disorders, but I’m not sure they can treat TDD.

It’s quite dangerous losing your sense of taste as you can’t taste bad and poisonous stuff, could  eat too much or too little, or eat too much salt or/and sugar.

So, I wasn’t at the peak of physical and mental condition going to the chemo bar for my last drink. Doctor confirmed peg infection, on antibiotics again. Then, when the chemo started coursing round my body, I felt a sort of tingling develop in all my extremities. Soon followed by my throat feeling very uncomfortable, primarily because my tongue was swelling. Felt very weird. Called nurse in strange strangulated voice to say I was not feeling good, she stopped the infusing and called for a doctor. Doctor not sure, they got the anaphylaxis stuff ready and contacted the consultant. Tingling and swelling abated and half an hour later consultant said nothing too untoward and carry on. I thought it definitely was untoward and was wary, nurse kept an eye on me but there was no repeat.

Radio saloon more uncomfortable under shell/mask than usual with greater swelling, then machine stopped again mid-treatment and needed technical assistance.

So all this distracted me from appreciating that it was my last chemo. Kate and I went back to the chemo bar to ring the bell and take my photo while the nurses clapped. Nice little ritual.

Whilst at the bar I talked with two fellow old geezers about our various predicaments, there was a good sense of really trying to look at the funny, darkly comic, quality of life stuff. The one man said how he felt that whatever he was going through was as nothing compared to his son who had cystic fibrosis and had a heart and lung transplant. They both said that there was always someone worse off than you. I said it must be a bugger for whoever can’t say that.

Neck skin still not too bad. It was more sore yesterday so put on the honey unction and today seems better.

I’ve occasionally asked for people to enter into discourse with me, but so far this has been limited. But it does feel good when I read someone else thinking and writing as I do. Suzanne Moore today writes about poverty, food banks and austerity in that bleeding heart liberal rag: “…..we hear a lot about food banks. They are necessary, but they also function as the most tangible symbol of the cognitive dissonance that passes for political discourse”. “This disconnection (of people from the state) is absolutely ideological and is the fundamental goal of the austerity experiment”.

I repeat: the tories (and other parties who are effectively supporting austerity) are evil, they are causing very bad things to happen to a lot of people. Even if, as David would probably say, it’s the even more evil ones in the shadows.

Looking forward to tonight’s Question Time, Brand and the grinning gargoyle on. On the gargoyle’s  last pub visit he was asked to sit in the corner and cover himself up as others were offended at seeing the tit. Just read that Titmarsh now supports the gargoyle.

Another Kliban:

Manifesto 40:

  • Titmarsh to deck the gargoyle.

PS sorry about yesterday’s graphic, it graphically showed the increase in food bank use in recent years.

Keep on keeping on, love Duncan

One thought on “Covering tits

  1. Not in the least surprised that Alan penis-face (sorry boys, but they’re just not as pretty as tits, and we have to defend the beauty-through-marriage-of-form-and-function of the mammaries in current climes) supports the Farridge-goyle; above’s sorry attempts at gardening through the self-referential medium of pruning his spikes in the presence of the floribundas has long been a thorn in my side…
    sorry.

    How about Soulsmith for your unctions? You can tell I live in Totnes (the cafe by the way was Soulshine 🙂 )

    I am so angry about the breast-feeding injunctions that I can’t write coherently yet…
    Glad chemo time has been called, sad that infection resurges – hope it wasn’t my cold. Take it easy this weekend, keep on to the time when you can keep keeping on in peace. xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

