Royal bollocks.

Long to have power and dominion over us, her loyal, unquestioning subjects. And woe betide anyone who dares to actually question this way of things, for they will have the opprobrium of those conduits of balanced sense and reason heaped upon them in an orgiastic display to destroy those who do not reflect and genuflect to the rich and the powerful. Since becoming a sentient being I have never sung the national anthem, I refused to go to my degree ceremony because the queen mother was presiding (I have regretted this, but only because it denied my parents the opportunity to celebrate). I once met a man who said his job was to hang around the queen mother of an evening until she finally keeled over awash with alcohol at which point he and another man put her on a stretcher and took her to her bedchamber.

Looking forward to Mr Jeremy’s first prime minister’s questions, I did raise this prospect a number of weeks ago and it has come to pass. One hopes that over time condom features will be shown up for what he is and what he really represents.

And what many of us want is not just two parties squeezed into one, but a true plurality in our parliament that reflects and represents all of us and not just the overweening power of the likes of the kleptos.

I’d been thinking about restarting my Grauniad subscription and yesterday I was called and made an offer I couldn’t refuse and daily deliveries will resume next month. I have tried to read stuff online but have found it hard. There are too many distractions, with ‘hard copy’ it’s just you and the printed page with the occasional image which stays fixed and doesn’t constantly wink trying to grab your attention. I even find myself not even reading articles properly and trying to understand them, instead thinking I know what they’re about and scrolling down to the comments. This is madness.

Saxophone arrived yesterday. I used to have a tenor but have now got an alto, being older and weaker I reckon I’ll be more able to play a smaller instrument. Played Au Clair de Lune straight away, the neighbours banged on their walls in approval.

It is very entertaining reading and listening to all the self-important pundits trying to understand what is happening with Mr Jeremy and to listen to the new team talk with so far refreshing candour. I’m now waiting for the interviewers to understand this and amend their ways so that we can start having more grown up discussions. And the tts will be shown up for the narrow, nasty little fucks that they are.

I filled in a questionnaire yesterday for a study being done at Bristol University to try and understand various aspects of post-treatment life for those who’ve been diagnosed with a head and neck cancer. It is an area that we still know little about or how best to support us crabby types. Yet again I had an example of how this is so when I talked with a fellow crabby one at a wedding last saturday, again there was this increased animation which occurs between fellow crabby ones. Pretty obvious which way we need to go, just need conveners and facilitators and time and space and funds.

Keep on keeping on, love Duncan.

Leave a Reply

