Judged

There’s a thing I’ve noticed lately amongst young folk and that’s their pre-occupation with judgement, being judged. “You’re judging me”, “Don’t judge me” are regular refrains I hear. It was something I came to relatively late in life, probably around the time of the blackness with my ex-witchwife. At the time I was probably acutely sensitive to being judged and how easily people are judged, too often in ignorant circumstances. We would pass judgement via gossip, print media, TV and radio. Nowadays things are very different and people are judged instantaneously via the plethora of ‘social media’. So youngsters today are probably way more sensitive to being judged. Don’t judge me!

And who’s judgement do we trust? Trust has declined alongside the increase in judging. And it is this that underpins much of the world’s current malaise. An example: poor Mr Jeremy is yet again castigated for attempting to put a case against a ‘shoot to kill’ policy. This reactive judgment will cause a further decline in trust, for which folk will most likely be shot? Which folk are already most likely to be stopped and searched. Which folk now and in the future are most likely to be mistrusted? I experience it myself and I consider myself to be more open and trusting of others than most people. It is those who are different to us, and the most obvious thing is skin colour.

We are rapidly moving into a very dangerous period, martial law and war may not be far away. The benighted citizens of so many Middle Eastern states, African countries, East European and Central Asian countries have been experiencing what Paris experienced last week on an often daily basis. More than ever we need what Mr Bertie Russell advocated a proper world government, how much have we heard from the UN lately? Any sensible or dissenting voices from the prevailing narrative are drowned out by a distorted media and one-eyed national leaders. We look for simplistic answers, don’t allow proper debate, drown out the voices of those who might help guide us.

So goodbye Jonah Lomu, in your brief life you changed the way rugby union was played. I love the commenta Kiwi supporter made: “rugby’s a team game so 14 of you pass to Jonah.”

I’m supposed to be going to New York on Sunday to see my uncle Barry who’s been very supportive over the past year. But he’s got a bad back and is having some sort of crisis and thinks I shouldn’t go. I still will even if I only see him relatively briefly for meals and the like.

Keep on keeping on, love Duncan.

Leave a Reply

