tory hypocrisy and other bollocks.

Vote tory get flooded.

Not hard, but this christmas was so much better for us than last year. Despite being ‘larried’* by Jill at their christmas eve do we paced ourselves well on christmas day and all had a lovely time. (*- to be larried from Laurice, landlady of the Castle Inn, Corfe. When someone imbues another with more alcohol than they had planned).

We have a local monthly magazine called ‘The Purbeck Gazette’, I always read it as it has occasional pieces of interest, has letters and articles about local issues and it’s always nice to see stuff about people you know. Last year I offered to write about crabby stuff but the editor, the pulchritudinous Nico, was worried about me being ‘too political’. I was miffed. So it was pleasing on a few levels to read this month’s edition which is full of political letters and stimulating stuff: I’ve expressed interest in becoming a warden volunteer for Dorset Wildlife Trust, will apply to join the Wessex Regional Flood and Coastal Committee, a house next to where I used to live is now become ‘When a House Becomes Art’ and will be featured in the sunday times and is open for viewing soon and there’s an ad for the best beauty therapist and masseuse in Purbeck.

One letter in particular piqued my pique from a person I’ve mentioned before, one Andy Kirkwood, who I dubbed ‘the messiah’. He’s involved in various things such as the anti-fracking group and regularly stands in elections. Anyways his letter goes on about the ‘cost of war’ and contrasting the obscene amounts spent on warmongering with the cuts in welfare. He then writes the following:

“I have been to a lot of Swanage Town Council meetings lately where Christian prayers are read to the predominantly Conservative Councillors. This is your party investing in war and bombing people”. Making the obvious point about the contradiction between the christian ethos and warmongering. He finishes with:

“I believe it is way overdue for humans to evolve and start acting with love and compassion. Who in the Conservative Party is brave enough to do that I wonder?” Enuff said.

And then I read in my Linkedin stuff they send me the following piece that also piqued my pique by some professor banging on about organisational bureaucratic bollocks:

“Sometimes we call it “The tragedy of well-intentioned organizational overload.” It happens because so many organizations are filled with well-meaning people who keep adding little bits of complexity and friction. Sometimes, as in our new evaluations, the additional load is added for the most noble of reasons. Other times, their motives are less noble — if still well-intentioned. They call meetings, add new rules, or require extra paperwork to demonstrate their value to their peers and bosses.”

This is something I’d been aware of for ages and experienced with increasing frustration as a teacher. I regularly banged my head against the nearest wall as I not only railed against all the bollocks but the cognitive dissonance of those in power and others around me. My friend Hector told me a number of years ago that when he was at some ABA (Applied Behavioural Analysis) management training that the co-founder spoke of his partner who had often said that in any organisation it’s effectiveness was something like 65% down to management, on his deathbed he amended this to 95%.

It has long been my belief that in any organisation the ultimate responsibility lies with, quite obviously, the CEO. As cambian healthcare goes through senior directors and other senior folk within their institutions at an unhealthy rate, for example the ‘new’ head of care at my old school lasted barely a year and left recently. I think that they do not have the moral right to include ‘health’ and ‘care’ in their company title. I also note that the only constant in the company’s hierarchy is mr kleptasaria and if a company’s ‘success’ is based on the simplistic bottom line then the continuing poor performance of the company as evidenced by their share price must bring into question the leader’s performance.

So, just spoken to Tim about our outfits for new year’s eve, we’re dressing up as glam rockers, I will try and get photos on the blog. It’s traditional for folk to fancy dress up on new year’s eve in Swanage and up until a few years ago was quite a big affair; apparently, so the folklore goes, it was even advertised on the London Underground.

Keep on keeping on, love Duncan.

Leave a Reply

