Changing opinions.

I was brought up short yesterday when discoursing with old friends from my time in London. We were briefly discussing a local hostelry, the Square and Compass, and I asked if they’d met the pub manager and I described him as the one with the ‘gammy leg’. I was immediately cast into the cultural wastelands for using such a politically incorrect term.

Now this is one of the prices we pay when we leave the cutting edge milieu of a big metropolis and live on the edge, we miss out on cultural developments such as with language. When things like this happen I feel defensive but also want to know if it’s not OK to use gammy in the context I used it. The jury in my head is still out.

Up the Foxes.

Now my old friend Steve, after prefacing his question with us Mr Jeremy supporters giving the tts a 20 year hegemony, asked who I’d prefer: s&m osborne or boris bunter? I replied neither, but the prospect is chilling. And oh how I wish Labour would really develop a message of real hope for a better future. They have the opportunity to do this with the upcoming EU referendum, but also, as Zoe Williams suggests, they should really concentrate on creating a vision of a better future for housing in this country. Although, of course, the tts and kleptos are very happy with the current state as they keep most of us subservient to the dictates of a rentier society.

And even though I’m now a parochial bigot I have to change my opinion of one Darius Guppy who I’ve bad-mouthed in the past. He’s an old mate of boris bunter but has taken him to task in the New Statesman for his opportunism to support a no vote. His basic point is that the ‘brexiters’ bang on about recovering sovereignty but that this isn’t possible as we don’t have control of national economics, with ‘globalisation’ our economy is now controlled by various financial institutions and multinational companies. Employing bunter’s love of the classics Guppy finishes with: “I do not see Achilles or Hector bowing before such a patently ignoble, money-worshipping and ultimately unpatriotic philosophy as thatcherism”. Ooh, don’t you just love the use of unpatriotic with thatcherism!

And writing of the witch I was also reminded of a Costello song about her when looking at a frightening photo of the drumf holding a poor child:

I saw a newspaper picture from the political
campaign
A woman was kissing a child, who was obviously
in pain
She spills with compassion, as that young child’s
face in her hands she grips
Can you imagine all that greed and avarice
coming down on that child’s lips

from Costello’s ‘Tramp the dirt down’

Is this child abuse?

And drumf used to be the dump’s family name, because the lying bastard’s proud of his heritage. Got it from a brilliant demolition of him by John Oliver: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TGc2nN9OguQ

I’ve just discovered a new song that will join my list of battle anthems,it’s called Blood on the Quad by Half Man Half biscuit https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-bkW2cwV38

Keep on keeping on, love Duncan.

 

Leave a Reply

