Oh for a new code of chivalry.

Just about recovered from our lily do on Saturday night. A number of years ago I bought some tree lily bulbs and like tribbles in Star Trek they madly multiply. Last year we got the timing wrong and none of the tree lilies were in bloom when we had a lily do, this year we got it right and there were bright big bleedin’ lilies everywhere! Whenever you plan a do that’s bigger than a dinner do there’s always that lurking anxiety of folk not turning up, especially at peak summer holiday time and it being the start of carnival and all. Some invitees didn’t turn up, which saddened me, but we did have just the right number for our new patio and chairs and the last left at 3, so I think it went OK.

Being the  poncy git that I am I like to cook and create new stuff. This is partly fuelled by my crabby experience, notably losing my sense of taste and not being able to swallow caused by the treatment. I now crave new and better tastes. For example I bought some truffle oil in Rhodes and poured it over the mushroom risotto last week and it was absolutely delicious, it also went down well when I poured it over boiled eggs at the lily do. And yet I missed a trick which I had thought about but chemobrain stymied with the Greek salad on Saturday. In Rhodes when Kate and I were walking in ridiculous +40 degree heat Kate spotted a cicada doing it’s thing on a tree trunk, she filmed it and got a good recording. I wanted to play the sound of this cicada when serving the Greek salad but forgot.

How parochial is this blog. Made Hector laugh at the lily do though. As I may have mentioned before his brain exists solely to produce puns and it suddenly came to me that when Hector’s mother was told of her pregnancy the doctor said she’d a pun in the oven.

So the news today celebrates cancer survival rates but that the ‘side effects’ of treatment need checking out more and patients given more support. Still think that ‘side effects’ an inadequate term, more like ‘full-frontal effects’. I’ve said many times that my treatment was brutal, as it is for many, but the support group called New View that I went to last year was so very useful. During it the medics and therapists learnt from us crabby folk a number of things about the many and varied ‘side effects’. Caused me to think that I could yet get a doctorate studying this.

Kate asked me yesterday whether I missed teaching and particularly the structure such work gives, I said no straight away. I still think about teaching in general and my work in particular but I’ve now been afforded an early opportunity to explore other stuff, like truffle oil. And I especially wouldn’t like to be at Purbeck View School right now as there are the typical top-down changes being imposed on staff which are drastically changing their working conditions. Experienced staff are leaving, those staying are unsettled and this is bound to impact on the students. Still, as long as kleptoasaria and his beleaguered company make what they consider the necessary savings so that the company makes a profit…………….

Maybe kleptoasaria should be knighted like sir shifty green? Now when in the very impressive streets of Rhodes old town one we walked along was Ippoton where the knights lived. It was quite easy to imagine them there with a stable for their horses, the heraldic symbols on the walls, their retinues servicing them. How different to modern day knights in our benighted system. Knights of old had a chivalrous code of honour which had the following 10 commandments:

  1. Thou shalt believe all that the Church teaches and thou shalt observe all its directions.
  2. Thou shalt defend the Church.
  3. Thou shalt respect all weaknesses, and shalt constitute thyself the defender of them.
  4. Thou shalt love the country in which thou wast born.
  5. Thou shalt not recoil before thine enemy.
  6. Thou shalt make war against the infidel without cessation and without mercy.
  7. Thou shalt perform scrupulously thy feudal duties, if they be not contrary to the laws of God.
  8. Thou shalt never lie, and shalt remain faithful to thy pledged word.
  9. Thou shalt be generous, and give largesse to everyone.
  10. Thou shalt be everywhere and always the champion of the Right and the Good against Injustice and Evil.

So, a little exercise to create the current code using sir shifty as an exemplar.

Simply replace the Church with the market in 1 and 2.

In 3 change respect for exploit.

Just laugh at 4.

shifty didn’t recoil in front of the parliamentary committee.

In 6 replace war with money.

For 7 as with 1 and 2 replace God with the market.

Laugh again at 8.

In 9 replace everyone with me, my family and assorted cronies.

In 10 replace champion with enemy.

So, we now have an updated code of chivalry for modern day knights.

Well, the badger cull is going well in Dorset as it increases TB rates in cattle herds. Culling causes something called perturbation which is where the culling causes the surviving badgers to move from their existing territories and those with TB infect other badgers and cattle. Still, it’s the modern knightly way of dealing with things.

Brilliant piece by A.L.Kennedy: https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/jul/31/im-dumping-broken-britain-al-kennedy-inequality. Especially love the phrase ‘Peak Deception’.

And this clip explains everything about the leadership of our modern world:

 

Keep on keeping on, love Duncan.

 

One thought on “Oh for a new code of chivalry.

  1. Good to hear from you Den, hope you had a good time in Portugal. Yes I’ve got the book and am dipping into it now and then, reading too much at once upsets my already fevered brain!

    Like

Leave a Reply

