Homogenous bollocks.

Themes run through my blog, reflecting the themes of my life and whilst that old trope confirmation bias plays it’s part it doesn’t necessarily deny any truth. All I want is the truth, just give me the truth. In our hyperreal, globalised, super-connected world that is changing so rapidly on the screens before our eyes a certain homogeneity is easily discerned. Go to any city and cars look the same. Buildings look the same. All the same shops. Go into almost any coffee bar, restaurant or the like and a similar aesthetic dominates. Everyone dressed and accessorised the same. Especially the bearded ‘hipsters’, they all look remarkably similar with their weird retro look.

It’s all so weird, like we need this comforting homogeneity whilst pretending that we’re all so hip. Of course this is all on the surface as most of us bumble along, being taken for a ride by all the kleptos and their pr fabricators. And the ride will get more difficult, especially when we want to travel abroad as soon we’ll need visas and the like to travel in Europe. Now there’s irony; the brexiteers claimed they’ll reduce red tape and suddenly a whole lot more appears and good old British exceptionalism will have us in the slow lanes at immigration controls.

And Hector and me cycling happily up the High Street when Charlie the Bikemonger races by on some sort of electrically powered bicycle. And so many of our Olympians winning medals, is this what the Olympian ideal is all about? Almost makes me want to support Australia. And moanrinho gets his tactics wrong and babylon lose, haha. And Birmingham doing well, think I’ll put a bet on teams beginning with the letter B winning all 4 soccer divisions, come on you Cherries.

Shit, now I’m wanting everything the same.

"Can you recommend something photogenic?"

“Can you recommend something photogenic?”

Keep on keeping on, love Duncan.

 

One thought on “Homogenous bollocks.

  1. Thanks my friend for sharing my foibles. But thanks also for a great time Friday evening and for the link to the Oysters which I have listened to and I will be borrowing some of their stuff so I won’t feel that I totally missed out on the fun. xzzz

    Like

Leave a Reply

