matt the twat.

I’m in a quandary, which was actually the answer to a University Challenge question we watched last night, not the whole phrase just the word quandary. I’m perplexed and feeling uncertain and it’s a condition that seems to be coming about because I am getting so much information via this screen I’m staring at now. In the olden days I’d get my real life newspaper The Grauniad (which, incidentally, is a much better fire starter than the mail which Kate gets old editions given to her by an elderly couple she cleans and helps) latterly augmented by a weekly magazine The New Statesman. I’d read these and often read whole articles, even essays, without being distracted. This is extremely difficult to do using a computer or other device in our current world.

I go onto a website, let’s say The Grauniad for example, and I’m having to approach it differently to my real newspaper reading regime; it’s laid out differently, getting into the letters section (one of my favourites) isn’t so easy, especially finding the current day’s letters because the time scale has shifted, it’s no longer the daily cycle of the actual newspaper but the constant, rolling news of the ‘modern media’ age. And I look on the home page and there’s loads of headlines all shouting for my attention, and I scroll down and there all these other headers advertising my many interests and I’m overwhelmed and find myself flitting hither and thither.

On any page, even when into one particular article there are ads popping up, headline grabbing little windows all over the shop and at the bottom of the article the comments section. It makes what should be the simple process of just reading one article increasingly difficult and I don’t like it. My brain is in a quandary.

Now then Duncan all the voices in my head are screaming just don’t use a computer for your news, start getting the newspaper again, but we are having to rein in our expenses, I cancelled the subscription a while ago. Forego being a news and information junkie. Stop writing this bleedin’ blog, hang on something interesting has just popped up………

Where was I, oh yes, just from this morning’s brief reading: dodgy tts doing deal with rich Surrey council, drumf slagging off some store for not selling his daughter’s stuff anymore, loads of brexit bollocks, vote leave ‘charity’ exposed for fraudulent use of funds, new report showing bright but poor children years behind rich peers, tts not pushing quite so hard for grammar schools as even they realise they’re not actually good for the young folk and ‘social mobility’…….

but wait, I, as ever go on to read the comments about the grammar school piece and alight on a comment that angers me:

it’s from a matt stevens who relates that on the day after starting at grammar school he and a mate are assaulted with chips and bones by 2 kids from the local ‘comp’. Poor matt is shocked but is comforted by his grammar school mate, who happens to be from the local council estate. He goes on to eulogise how the grammar school education allowed his new mate to escape from the ‘anti-intellectual’ life he was living in on the estate.

He finishes with the following paragraph:

“Sometimes I like to amuse myself by wondering if those 2 kids, now grown up and with years of comprehensive education firmly under their belt, are among the battalions of jealous Guardian commentators that pop up on every grammar school article to express their envy and frustration at both their existence, and the kids who were clever enough to get in”

Now, after relating my own story I will deconstruct matt the twat’s comment.

Soon after starting at Maidstone grammar school I arrived back at Borough Green station on the incredibly long journey I had to make to school and back. My dad wasn’t there to pick me up so I decided to begin walking home in my shiny new grammar school uniform. With impeccable timing I began walking by the local secondary school as it’s pupils were leaving. For the next many minutes I was hit, kicked, spat on, pushed into a ditch and verbally abused, a little more than having a few chips and chicken bones hurled at me which so shocked matt the twat.

After experiencing this I thought about why it had happened, rather than matt the twat’s shallow reactionary rationalisation.

Number one, matt the twat’s assailants would not have been at the ‘local comp’ as he obviously lived in a grammar school area so the other kids he is so dismissive of would have gone to a ‘secondary modern’ (perhaps a ‘technical school’ which existed for those who just failed the 11 plus). At the tender age of 11 these kids, already living in poorer conditions than most of those who went to grammar school, are now judged as academic failures and a very understandable reaction at that tender age is to feel some resentment, even anger at those lucky few who get to wear a grammar school uniform.

He uses this chip chucking episode to fuel his anti-comprehensive school beliefs, which at a fundamental level are misguided. After I experienced my incident I didn’t simply have matt the twat’s simplistic reaction, I thought and gained understanding about how inequality in all it’s guises comes about and is manifested. It probably underpins brexit and the manboy.

For matt the twat to then go on about ‘jealous Guardian readers’ and their ‘envy and frustration’ merely reinforces matt the twat’s ignorance. I suspect but can’t actually assert that matt the twat probably doesn’t properly read any stuff about grammar schools and how they might possibly not do what they claim. I also suspect that matt the twat also reads the mail which has just been struck off Wikipedia for being full of mendacious bollocks. If you can be arsed and get through all the click bait you can find matt the twat’s comment after the article in today’s Grauniad entitled: ‘Government appears to row back on grammar school plans’.

Poor matt the twat, I’m surprised he’s still able to cope after such a horrendously shocking experience, of course he still has a chip on his shoulder.

"Chip off the old block."

Keep on keeping on, love Duncan.

 

 

Leave a Reply

